One in a Million

Just Pamela again!  Richard says I need to update the blog even though I would rather wait until I have accurate information.  BUT I am submitting to my husband so here goes.  I spoke with Dr. Brader’s nurse (he is in surgery) who said they discussed many options and she didn’t know which one was decided.  What I do know is that I need a PET scan to see if it has metastasized elsewhere in the body, and that I will be referred to U of M’s melanoma clinic.  There are some tests which were suppose to be run on the lymph nodes.  The nurse said the tests had been requested but she did not have the results.  She did not know if Dr. Brader would call me with the results or if he would go over them at my next visit (November 6th). The tests were to see if this cancer was caused by one of two different mutant genes as that would direct treatment options. I have requested all my reports so I can be more knowledgeable.  I have finally been able to research vulvar melanoma and found out today that it affects 1 in 1 million women, so thought it was an appropriate title for this post.  I have to go now,  I need to go by a lottery ticket with those odds!  Love all of you, Just Pamela

Hebrews 10:23 – Hold on to your Hope for He who promises is FAITHFUL. 

9 thoughts on “One in a Million

  1. Diane Dunham says:

    Enjoyed my visit with you today Pam. No matter what the results you are a fighter, don’t forget that! I will continue to pray for you. Love you friend. DD

  2. Just Pamela says:

    I enjoyed our visit too and thanks to you and Denise for the yummy meal. My favorite was the fresh snap peas and dip. Didn’t even know I was craving them.

  3. Candy says:

    Your husband is a smart man. Enquiring minds want to know. Thanks for sharing the update. Positive thoughts = positive results.

  4. Jill Gilbert says:

    I have also treated at the U of M Melanoma Clinic and continue to have my quarterly followups there. The staff is wonderful and I am very grateful that we have such a wonderful clinic not too far from home. You will be in great hands…they will take their time with you, answer all of your questions, let you cry on their shoulders if needed, and treat you as you would treat others in our situation. I am confident in their abilities and I am sure you will be as well. I currently treat with Dr. Bruce Redman and highly recommend him. I am thinking of you often..we will overcome this challenge!

    • Just Pamela says:

      Jill, thank you for letting me know you also went to U of M. I went on the site yesterday and it seemed impersonal to me so I am glad your experience was different. We will get together soon to talk.

  5. Denise says:

    Lifted you up in prayer last night in my church’s small group. Hope you are feeling loving arms wrapped around you! Are you up for a large visit from friends who miss you like crazy at Cedar?

    • Just Pamela says:

      Jill, thank you for letting me know you also went to U of M. I went on the site yesterday and it seemed impersonal to me so I am glad your experience was different. We will get together soon to talk.

    • Just Pamela says:

      I would love a visit. Just give me a heads up so I can make sure I am “dressed” properly. ;0)

      • Deb H. says:

        Pamela….can’t imagine you NOT being dressed properly! You are always dressed in some trendy little “ensemble”! 🙂 Miss you! xoxox

Leave a Reply

