Just Pamela Moments at Gilda’s House

Here is a link to Gilda’s House in Grand Rapids…. What a wonderful and incredible place!!!!

http://www.gildasclubgr.org/

Moment Number #1  Oh…I wish I had a picture…….

Pamela walking up the stairs to reach our meeting place.   You all imagine.  And just for the record, she refused the offer to take the elevator.

Moment Number #2

Member of support Group looking at Pamela:   “Can I ask you a question?” 

Just Pamela quips:  “What is a vulva?”   Pause from group and then a room full of laughter.

Moment Number #3

Just Pamela:  “I don’t want to be a Debby Downer.”

Woman quips:  “No, don’t be Debbie Downer.  I’m Debbie.   You can be a Pamela Downer”  Pause…

Just Pamela:  Releases a well earned belly laugh.

Moment Number #4

Walking to the car at the end of the meeting.  Person in front of us veers left.  We veer right

Just Pamela:  “Maybe we should follow her (person veering left)”  But Pamela keeps going right.  “Whew it’s kind of rough over here…There aren’t any lights.  Krogman is taking us off the beaten path”.

Tammy:  “Well, maybe you should slow down, or let someone help (takes Just Pamela’s arm)”.

Pamela:  Mutters something unintelligible, but I do hear…….”It’s getting squishy.”

Cheri:  “That’s so you can dig seed holes with those 3 inch heeled boots of yours.  We could come back and plant a garden.” (Pamela thinks she got by with the earlier “Krogman” remark).

Tammy and Pamela:  Continue their walk and end up walking away from my car in the parking lot.

Cheri:  “My car is over here. ”  I point for added emphasis.

The dynamic duo meander on over to my car.  My heart takes a picture and I smile inside.  Beauty for ashes…Isaiah 61.

For you…Just Pamela…..

“Whatever it is you may be going through.  I know He’s not gonna let it get the best of you

You’re an over comer.  Stay in the fight til the final round.  You’re not going under ’cause God

is holding you right now.  You might be down for the moment.  Feeling like it’s hopeless.  That’s

when He reminds you….That you’re an overcomer.  You’re An overcomer.”  

              Mandisa   “Overcomer”

Cheri

7 thoughts on “Just Pamela Moments at Gilda’s House

  1. Just Pamela says:

    Oh my, how I love this post. I laughed so hard. We did have some good times. All I could remember is how the meeting started, the woman who was on her 36th round of chemo, the woman’s who hair was just starting to come back in, and the woman fearing her after-treatment doctor checkup. This definitely helps to replace those images. Thank you Cheri!

  2. Jean Stevens says:

    Hi Pamela,
    I have been thinking about you and praying for you. I miss seeing you at work looking all sassy and ready for our always interesting days at Cedar Crest. Come to think of it, tomorrow will be especially interesting as the kids will be acting like little sugared-up freaks for Halloween. Hope your Halloween is calmer than what we are anticipating. We miss you!

  3. Candy says:

    Cheri, I too heard the Mandisa song last week & thought of Pamela immediately. Continued prayers…

  4. Love you Pamela! A sense of humor help!! You go girl!!

  5. barbaradykhuizen says:

    You are so precious. I love you Pamela Boomer.

Leave a Reply

