An Attitude Without Gratitude

Yesterday was a dark day.  It started out innocently enough. I was just going to check the internet (why, right?) regarding healing from my surgery and got sucked in.  I then began searching this disease again because I figure there just has to be a treatment somewhere. I am still searching for man to give me answers.  When will I learn?  It put me in a funk.  I poured out my wrath on Richard because I wanted to steal his hope too.  Why should he get to be blissfully ignorant?  I finally dragged myself out of bed at 1:00 to do the dishes.  Not just a few dirty dishes, but a pile where there is no counter-space left.  Oh, what a pity party I carried on all day, which is when I realized I had an attitude without gratitude. God says to thank him in all situations.  Thank you that I have food to dirty those dishes and a beautiful family to feed.  Thank you for a husband who forgives me and holds me while I bawl like a baby.  Thank you that I have friends who drop everything to be with me. Thank you for a warm house on a cold day.  Thank you for a job that I love and will be able to return to. Thank you that God can use this cancer for good in my life and in others.  And so many more thank yous… Each night before bed I read through my bible until God lays a verse on my heart.  I then look at it again in the morning to memorize it. How fitting that my devotional for today had the same verse.  Here it is for all of us.  Let us not forget it no matter what we are going through.  

Romans 15:13 May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in him, so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.  

5 thoughts on “An Attitude Without Gratitude

  1. Gretchen says:

    Thankful that God lays his message on our hearts that we need for the day and that you are open to his leading. Sorry about the bad day 😦 but , thankful for your strong faith and helping us learn, too! Hugs and prayers!

  2. Terri Knox says:

    You are still the strong willed person I remember. Reading your blog leaves me feeling humbled, encouraged and thankful!! Thank you for sharing and inspiring. You are in my prayers.

  3. Grandma Dawn :) says:

    🙂 As you walk through the valley of the unknown, you will find the footprints of Jesus in front of you and beside of you.

  4. Erica says:

    im proud of u pam 🙂 ur a good person. my prayers r with u

  5. Deb H. says:

    Thinking of you today, Pamela…..so thankful for YOU! Sending love to you…you are always in my prayers.

Leave a Reply

