Final Decision

I am deciding not to have the reexcision surgery to take more tissue from the initial surgery area. Dr. Brader and I spoke at length this morning and after considering all the information, we feel it is in my best interests to not have the surgery.  I remind myself also that Dr. Brader and  both U of M doctors who I visited said my margins were considered clean (one spot was 2mm instead of the textbook 4mm) and also that two of the three tumor boards who have reviewed my case did not have this recommendation of reexcision.  

My niece who is doing her fellowship in hematology oncology told me when I was first diagnosed that this  journey was going to feel like an emotional rollercoaster. She could not have been more correct. Sometimes I feel bi-polar with all my ups and downs. Fortunately, with God’s help I am more up than down these days.  Wishing you all a wonderful Christmas. 

2 thoughts on “Final Decision

  1. Denise says:

    It must be so difficult! I hope you are at peace with the decision and can savor the holidays with your family. Love you lots!

  2. Deb H. says:

    Thinking of you, Pamela! Glad your boys are done with school so you can all enjoy each other. Prayers and love being sent your way.

Leave a Reply

