2014 is Looking Up

Good news is abound in the Boomer household. My biopsy taken from the original tumor site on Monday came back clear and no cancer was detected in the area that was inflamed (and of concern). Richard also received good news from his cardiovascular doctor at his six-month checkup. His ultrasound showed no additional accumulations in his carotid arteries; and the doctor praised him for his lifestyle changes. We are feeling pretty thankful.

Recently, I created a bucket list at the advice of a friend. While I realize I am not very adventurous, I am trying to be more spontaneous. Richard actually convinced me to go to Chicago to visit family with two hours notice last weekend when the weather was predicted to be so bad. We luckily beat the storm and had nice travels most of the way. I am so thankful we went as we had the best time connecting with cousins from both his side and my side of the family. We never realized they lived just a half hour away from each other! Celebrating his cousin Beverly’s birthday, who was visiting from South Dakota, was a real treat.

On the way home we ended up eating at the Iron Skillet Truck Stop in Gary, Indiana. (Not my choice but we waited too long and we were desperate by that time). While the food was tasty, the language and stories were very colorful and more memorable. Our eyes were round as saucers! One truck driver stated “I don’t believe cigarettes kill as my grandpa smoked unfiltered cigarettes his whole life and lived to be 95! Guy next to him retorts back “my aunt lived to be 120 and used snuff and drank moonshine”. (this is just a small taste of all the stories – some I am too embarrassed to write!) So I realized I have it all wrong with this exercise and clean-eating plan – what I really need to be doing is smoking, chewing tobacco, and drinking! :O)

I would ask for continued prayers for a clean PET scan in February, correct dosage for my thyroid medication, and healing of my voice and shortness of breath. My family and I really appreciate all the prayers and words of encouragement.

Psalm 112:7 He will have no fear of bad news; his heart is steadfast, trusting in the Lord.

3 thoughts on “2014 is Looking Up

  1. Diane Dunham says:

    Awesome news Pam!

  2. Our “Hope ” is a all we need with the strength of God’s will! I am so happy for you guys! Doing the happy dance…..

  3. Tabitha Maguire-Durant says:

    My husband and I have been praying every night for my sister. Sometimes I think those prayers get answered one small step at a time. Pam came over to my house and spent the morning with me going through old photos and talking about the past and our futures. She also gave me a pic of us that her husband took on December 24 when she had the thyroid surgery. I do admit I looked quite good in it. LOL. Imagine my surprise to return home from Amber’s basketball practice to see that picture on my wall. My husband thought we both looked great and made a point of finding a frame and putting it up on our wall next to a family photo of us with our other siblings. Sometimes it is the little things that are done by your loved ones that mean the most. I LOVE my sister and and Jess knows how important family is. Often we get busy with our lives and we find it hard to find time to visit and talk to family. I should take some lessons from my husband and call my family members every night. Let them know I love them and miss them even if there is nothing new from the day before. It can be the difference between a bad day and a great day. All my LOVE and PRAYERS, Pam!

Leave a Reply

