Thankfulness

Thankfulness

I love this quote as it really puts our lives into perspective. Many years ago my father-in-law went on a bus trip and decided to spend the first 15 minutes thanking the Lord for all the blessings in his life. He said at the end of the 15 minutes he had many more blessings to still recite. Upon hearing this, I decided to try this task as well and was not as successful. First of all, it was hard to keep my mind focused for 15 minutes straight and once I ran out of the “big” things like family, friends, health, etc. I had to stretch my mind. I am happy to say this comes much easier to me these days.

I read recently that we should be thankful by imagining we are guests on this earth. All that we have is not really ours but a gracious gift from God. We are privileged to enjoy these gifts of friends and family, home, health, food, recreation, etc. etc. I am thankful for these past few months to enjoy quiet time and stillness with the Lord. I noticed for the first time a tree in my front yard that keeps its red berries all winter long, the numerous birds that come to the bird feeder, and the softness of the socks given to me by a friend.

I have a friend who sees the beauty in so many things. She is a lover of nature, old things, and architecture. She assures me she will continue to point these beautiful things out to me until I can do it on my own. I will know the day I am independent once I see the beauty in the bug carcasses she had setting on her school desk! That might take some time!

Tonight Richard is driving me to Gilda’s Club for a support group. I have been unable to attend this specific group since October because of the weather. The first one was emotionally draining but I am much stronger mentally than I was back then. I pray that I am blessed by going but also that I may be a blessing to someone else.

I am getting stronger and louder! Last week I shoveled snow and was proud of my job even if my family did not recognize my efforts. I was winded doing it but had to admit this was probably my baseline pre-surgeries! My voice is also able to carry through the house now. RK consoled me after hearing me crying and carrying on about Richard turning off my heater and leaving the bathroom door open which lost all my acquired heat! So maybe my hormones might still be a little off, but I am getting there!

1 Thess 5:18 In everything give thanks; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.

2 thoughts on “Thankfulness

  1. Jodi says:

    Thanks for the post! I really wasnt being sweet when I said how much I loved them……I was being honest. 😄

  2. Sueann says:

    Great post as usual! So enjoy your sharing!

Leave a Reply

