The Countdown

The countdown is on – five treatments down and twenty-five more to go!  The past few days I have been trying to engage another woman who is in the waiting room with me in conversation.  Today she finally broke down and spoke with me.  When she told me she only had five more treatments to go, I experienced some jealousy.  However, it was short-lived.  I asked how she planned to celebrate her last day of radiation, and she said “by slathering aloe vera all over my second degree burns”.  Yikes!  I think I will be grateful for how I feel today and where I am in the treatment process.

I also met a friendly farmer in the waiting room.  He drives farther than I do for his treatments and he has FORTY-FIVE of them!  I sheepishly told him I had a mere thirty.  His appointment is being switched to early morning around the same time as mine so I think we will be radiation buddies!  

Being from a small town, I am making the most of the “big” city.  There are so many stores just waiting to be explored.  I asked Richard to keep working those long hours and bringing home the bacon because “retail therapy” seems to be helping me cope. :0) I could do a lot more damage to our wallet if I just knew how to parallel park.  All those stores continue to be off-limits until I get my parallel parking training in a couple weeks.  I found someone willing (and patient enough) to teach me, although she says we are using cones and not real cars so she may not be as confident in me as I hoped.  

4 thoughts on “The Countdown

  1. Janet Galvin says:

    I had 20 sessions. I was supposed to have 6 weeks, M-F, but they cut it down to 4 weeks at a stronger dosage. My friend recommended using coconut oil on my skin. I used it after radiation and at night and morning. It made all the difference in the world. The radiologist couldn’t believe how good my skin looked. try it before trying any aloe. I think you will be happy with it. I pray for you every day. You will overcome…

  2. Linda Van Houten says:

    Thinking of you and still praying for that Miracle. Amazed at your positive spirit and thankful for your commitment to do whatever it takes to beat this thing. Love the family pictures!
    Here is a neat quote: “Begin at once to live, and count each separate day as a separate life.” Seneca

  3. Lori Simon says:

    Love that she finally broke down and talked to you, but then again I think you could break down a mime with your conversational skills 🙂

  4. Bill Terkeurst says:

    I LOVE parallel parking! Secret is to take it slow. Most folks think they have to rush, cause they’re sticking out in a traffic lane…don’t. Going slow gives you more chances to correct. And I agree with Lori, who wouldn’t want to talk to you!?!

Leave a Reply

