Flat Tire Blessings

Changing Plans

It may be hard to believe that these adults influence and engage the minds of our younger generation nine months out of the year, but they do – AND THEY DO IT WELL. They are also some of the most wonderful, and slightly crazy, people you may have the pleasure of meeting. I cannot thank them enough for the incredible support they have shown me during this ever-changing journey.

In fact, I received this picture on my phone at the exact moment when I needed it the most. I had just parked my car after my tire popped on the expressway on my way to treatment. I was upset as I didn’t want to miss my treatment after driving the fifty miles to get there nor did I want to make it up another day. This picture made me smile when I badly needed one! Okay, I also admit I may have cried a little too when I saw it. Kind gestures do that to me.

This whole tire-popping event turned into a memorable experience. I made it safely to a gas station, and a woman in the next car informed me I had a flat tire (like I couldn’t feel it??) that was smoking! I believe God sent me to that particular gas station. As the clerk was helping me, she revealed that she had recently been diagnosed with cancer and she would be going to Lacks and even seeing my doctor. I hope I provided some comfort to her that day. I then had an adventurous ride with a kind stranger (Richard has already lectured me so save your breath) and made it to my appointment with five minutes to spare! That popped tire also stranded me in Grand Rapids where I was able to stay with friends, eat at P.F. Changs, meet a friend’s fiance, and borrow a fun new dress (I may be sporting maxi style dresses now {ankle-length dresses for the non-fashionistas out there}).

Some people call these moments God hugs, God winks or God kisses. All I know is that these types of “moments” keep happening to me and they are powerful. It is a great reminder to not stress or get upset over the small events in our life as there may be something bigger in the works.

Romans 8:28: And we know that all things work together for good to them that love God, to them who are called according to his purpose.

2 thoughts on “Flat Tire Blessings

  1. Gretchen says:

    It would have been even more fun for us if you were there! BUT, God had a different plan for you that day! How awesome that he put you right where he needed you AND that you recognized that call 🙂 AND that you share with us how God is working in your life through all of this. Love and hugs!

  2. I call them God winks of positive kisses. Love that things worked out and you made the best of what God had sent you. Special friends are everything! And the circle of friends we all have are the potion of love and always have your back! Miss you and sending you a hug!

Leave a Reply

