Surgery AGAIN and Feeling Preachy

I knew it was inevitable when I had the biopsy last Thursday, but I liked not having to deal with the idea of surgery this weekend. Dr. Brader called this morning to say the biopsy showed melanoma in situ (has not penetrated below the top layer of skin) and I would need surgery to remove it.  I am trying to be thankful that it was caught early and will not require as invasive of a surgery as the first one (the first surgery and its recovery make my knees buckle to remember it).  This one will be an outpatient surgery at 3:00 at St. Mary’s Hospital tomorrow.  This time melanoma showed up on the opposite side of where the skin is currently being radiated.  

Several times this summer, I felt like shouting to others “melanoma is real.  That tan is not worth it.  Pale is beautiful!”   I wish I could take back those years of baking in the sun and going to the tanner.  My dermatologist said sunscreen first came on the market in 1987, which is why I never remember my parents encouraging it.  I pray the situation will be different for my own children by wearing sunscreen and hats and getting regular skin checks. Drake was going to be weed whipping at work the following day and he commented, “at least I will get a tan”.  Picture my jaw dropping, my eyes bulging, and my blood boiling.  I think he regrets saying it now after my huge lecture (I definitely went over Richard’s and my agreed upon 20 second limit when “informing” the boys on important issues). 

I am going to leave you with a portion of the Jesus Calling devotion from June 27th  “Rest with me a while.  You have journeyed up a steep, rugged path in recent days.  The way ahead is shrouded in uncertainty.  Look neither behind you nor before you.  Instead, focus your attention on Me, your constant Companion. Trust that I will equip you fully for whatever awaits you on your journey.” 

Please pray that I would be  “equipped with whatever I need”.  Just Pamela

3 thoughts on “Surgery AGAIN and Feeling Preachy

  1. Julie Stephens says:

    Good luck once again, Pamela! I’ll be thinking about you tomorrow. It was nice visiting with you Friday night; just wish there were more pleasant things for us to talk about. I’m thankful this was caught early for you!

  2. Laura Siek says:

    Hi Pamela, I just started following your Blog and want to offer a ride to treatments, whatever. Even though I work year round, I would take a vacation day. I did this for Linda Harrison a few times and would love to be a help to you in whatever capacity possible. Prayers are a given.

  3. Deb Homant says:

    I hope things went well for you today. I think of you daily and pray nightly. I am also available if you need a ride, or anything else. Hugs for you!

Leave a Reply

