Graduation Day

It is finally here – graduation day from radiation and here is my certificate to prove it:
0716141956

My celebration included lunch with friends followed by a much needed nap. Later this evening my family and I had a “burn” party where we symbolically burned my radiation card declaring it final and the end of  that business. No more doctor appointments for a whole month, and I am hoping the time goes by slowly!

One of the best choices I made during this treatment period was to meet regularly with Chaplain Diane at Lack’s.   I knew I needed guidance as I had been struggling with the same issues since this journey began; however, making that first contact was hard because it meant opening myself up to being vulnerable. I was a blubbering mess most of the first session (which was exactly what I feared)  Throughout our meetings, she has helped me find clarity and peace.   Today she presented me with the stones pictured below and explained how they related to me.  While I possessed all of these to some degree, this trial has definitely required growth in each of these areas.

0716141957

 

My daily battle is finding peace amidst the storm.  The Jesus Calling passage from July 15th tells me clearly how to do just that: “Do not worry about tomorrow! This is not a suggestion but a command.  I divided time into days and nights, so that you would have manageable portions of life to handle.  My grace is sufficient for you, but this sufficiency is for only one day at a time.  When you worry about the future, you heap day upon day of troubles onto your flimsy frame.  You stagger under this heavy load, which I never intended you to carry.

Throw off this oppressive burden with one quick thrust of trust.  Anxious thoughts meander about and crisscross in your brain, but trusting Me brings you directly into My Presence.  As you thus affirm your faith, shackles of worry fall off instantly.  Enjoy My Presence continually by trusting Me at all times.   

Matt 6:34  “Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself.  Each day has enough trouble of its own.”

3 thoughts on “Graduation Day

  1. Jill Gilbert says:

    Enjoy your well-deserved month! Enjoy your time relaxing and having fun with your family. I so wish I could make this summer so down for all of us…

  2. Deb Homant says:

    Congratulations on finishing this step of your journey… Enjoy your appointment free month! I hope you find healing and comfort and get lots of rest. You are an amazing, inspiring gal!

  3. Linda Van Houten says:

    Celebrating with you and thrilled for your physical and spiritual healing. Thinking of you always and continued prayers for miracles!!!

Leave a Reply

