1 Year Anniversary and Good News

The good news is that “no new suspicious spots” were visible on the PET / CT scan.  I am grateful to receive the good news and so quickly.  The area in the pelvis is still lighting up on the scan but it DID NOT SPREAD, so that is a huge blessing for which I am thankful.  I feel like I have been given the gift of time: time to continue to lead a normal life without medical appointments and procedures. My next appointment with the oncologist is October 30th and I plan to make the most of October!!!

This past weekend was my one year anniversary as a cancer survivor.  A friend gave me a small, beautiful wooden box as a gift to celebrate it.  What she didn’t realize is the significance of the ginkgo tree on the top of the box.

 

0929141702

The ginkgo trees were one of the few things to survive the atomic blast at Hiroshima. While almost everything else was destroyed, the ginkgo trees though charred, survived and were soon healthy again. I love the symbolism and I love the fact that my friend chose this box for me without even knowing this significance. It is a symbol of HOPE.

When I reflect on the past year, I realize the many positive changes in how I approach life. Cancer has made me forgive and let go of bitterness, heal and deepen relationships, and worry less and trust God more. It has made me realize that accepting help from others is not a sign of weakness but is a blessing to both the giver and myself. It has made me realize the time is NOW and to stop waiting for that special day to burn the candle, use the good dishes or do what I desire. But best of all it has made me stop comparing: myself, my kids, my home, my job, etc. God has blessed me abundantly and He has me exactly where I am suppose to be.

Ps. 49:6 “Be still and know that I am God”

5 thoughts on “1 Year Anniversary and Good News

  1. Gretchen says:

    Praises and prayers! God bless you, friend!

  2. Denise says:

    BEST NEWS EVER! Praise Him! ❤️

  3. Jill Gilbert says:

    Wonderful news for you and your family…It is often difficult to see cancer as a blessing, but you are one of the most positive and strong people I know when dealing with this disease. Enjoy October!!

  4. Amen!!! You have made it to the best time in life and that is excepting and being humble in the blessings of God. Faith is where it is and the rest will come. Your life is filled with with the grace of God that puts that beautiful smile in place that lights the room. Life is Good!!!

    Love you!
    Kim

  5. Sueann says:

    What a blessing the gift of the box and the symbolism. Our God used this gift to continue to bless & encourage you and us also. So thrilled with the great news!

Leave a Reply

