Can you say OUCH!

Once again I had excellent care for my procedure. Dr. Sandman, the orthopedic surgeon who performed the biopsy, explained everything in great detail. He showed me the images from the PET / CT scan and explained that the suspicious area is in a high support area for bearing my weight. Therefore, he was not able to take out the entire amount shown on the PET scan because it would make my bone too weak to support me. Just taking out this small amount makes my femur susceptible to a fracture, which is why he is recommending three weeks with crutches or a walker. That piece of information would have been helpful to know before the day of the surgery. It certainly would have given me the motivation to clean my house and make freezer meals. Now I am at the mercy of the men in my family to help me out.

So I have been taken back by how much pain there is for just a biopsy.  My colleague and friend recently had hip surgery, and I can’t imagine how much worse that must have been. I have new sympathy for her all over again. This is the first time I’ve needed to take the full amount of pain medication prescribed, and I am feeling little relief with it. It will take one to two weeks to receive the results.

The staff at my school provided me with some homework during my recovery. Each person anonymously wrote down an interesting fact about himself / herself in which I needed to pair their pictures. Some are easy such as this one:
0129151245 2

Some are not so easy and may cause hard feelings if I get it wrong, such as the person who frequently walked through warm cow poop as a youngster,  the one who flunked drivers ed, or the person who made up a pretend boyfriend.  I will plead that I was “under the influence of pain meds” if it goes badly. The task is a clever way to keep me entertained and lifts my spirits!

 

 

Is 41:10: Be still and know that I am God.

3 thoughts on “Can you say OUCH!

  1. Jill Gilbert says:

    Hoping the pain you are experiencing eases soon and that you are back on your own two feet soon! Praying for your results to come back quickly and with negative findings. Take care and let me know if you need anything…let your men spoil you these next few weeks 🙂

  2. Deb Homant says:

    I’m so sorry you are in so much pain! I hope that gets better SOON!!! Glad you are enjoying the game Jean came up with! Let people take care of you…you deserve it. Love and hugs

  3. ericavoeks says:

    will be praying for you pam! sorry about your pain!

Leave a Reply

