Facing “the hard”

While I know the signs pointed to melanoma in the femur, I still held out hope that it was a fluke on the scan. Unfortunately, the orthopedic surgeon told Richard and I that the biopsy indicated that melanoma has metastasized to my bone. He further stated that I will need the walker for at least another month until my bone is stronger. I do not know any more information, and I refuse to research it as this has not been healthy for me in the past. I will wait to hear from my oncologist to determine the next step.

This is tough information for my family and friends to absorb. As hard as it may be to believe, I feel like I am rebounding from the news much quicker this time. I have peace that God will guide me in this journey and even stronger faith in Romans 8:38 “we know that God causes everything to work together for the good of those who love him and who are called according to his purpose for them”. While I do not claim to know in what ways He will work, I have a strong belief that He is doing and will do amazing things.

After hearing the biopsy news, I was contemplating on whether or not to return to work. I am glad I chose to go to work as it was the perfect way to get my mind off from this disease. If I hadn’t returned to work I would have missed this classic moment. One of my young students was holding the door open for me so I could get my walker through the doorway. As I was doing so, he quips “I don’t want you to crack your head open as you are the nicest speech teacher.” I really want to believe he meant the last part of his statement but he has also told me he is “allergic to pencils” so I am questioning his credibility.

My walker at school is tricked out with a seat, brakes, storage compartment, and even a hot pink princess bike bell provided by my colleagues. The bell has made me quite popular in the preschool room and encourages a lot of conversation (a speech pathologist’s dream). Of course, one preschooler had to share that his grandma has a walker just like mine. My poor vanity. All I can think is that she probably doesn’t have a cool princess bell on hers!

These are the small things that get me through the day. So I continue to take one minute, hour, day at a time.

Ephesians 3:20 God can do immeasurably more than we ask or imagine…

13 thoughts on “Facing “the hard”

  1. Mary Ane Krum says:

    Our prayers are with you!! Your strength & drive is amazing!!

  2. Deb Homant says:

    That little guy is right…you are awfully nice! We all love you dearly! ❀ Thinking and your family, always keeping you in my prayers. I saw another little guy waiting patiently for you to notice him in the hall outside my door while you were working with someone else. You gave him exactly what he wanted — a hug! I'll bet it helped you both. πŸ™‚

  3. Dawn says:

    Pam, you are truly an amazing person and you are always in my thoughts and prayers.

  4. Jeannie Perry says:

    You are one in a million – and we love and cherish you! And you know what, you’re my favor speech teacher! (to pick on 😘)

  5. Deb Platko says:

    Pamela, I have so much admiration for your strength and faith! We all love you!! Hugs! Deb

  6. dianeh0 says:

    Your strength and positive attitude encourage me. Continuing to pray and remember – I’m a phone call away. β™‘

  7. Gretchen says:

    Hugs and prayers and lots of love!

  8. Johanna Rentschler says:

    I have always admired your positive outlook and drive! When you want to get something done, it happens. You are handling this disease with the same strength that guides you through each hardship you encounter. And…you have GOD……..he will get you through the times you think you can’t!

  9. Jill Gilbert says:

    You are still in my thoughts and prayers…please let me know if there is anything I can do for you! Your strength and faith are amazing!

  10. Barb & Mike says:

    You are an amazing woman and know that I love you! You, Rich, RK, and Drake are in our continued prayers!

  11. Linda Van Houten says:

    I too believe God has an amazing plan for you and trust is the key. He is a God of miracles and does do unmeasurable things. Continue to hold on to that truth. Gain hope from knowing Just how much He loves you – He gave His life for you and He WILL take care of you. You are touching so many lives and will continue to do so with your wit, your faith, and your determination. We love you!!

  12. ericavoeks says:

    prayers for you and your family pam.

  13. Cheryl says:

    You are such a strong woman – both in spirit and in attitude. You are a role model for everyone. Prayers for you and your family. Remember, being retired, I have a flexible schedule so that if you need a ride to any appointments, please contact me.

Leave a Reply

