Simply Obey

I was telling my friend that I had made a decision to start immunotherapy treatment as I felt God was pointing me in that direction but that I did not “feel” like doing it.  Sometimes you can know something is the right thing to do even though your “heart” is not into it.  I was quite ornery about this decision (for days).  My friend said her dad would tell her when she was a young girl to “simply obey”.  So I am going to “simply obey” the plan I believe God has for me, which involves four infusions of an immunotherapy drug over a twelve week period.  I will begin the treatments in mid-April at the Lacks Cancer Center.

Please pray that I would be able to handle the side effects of this drug.  It seems like right when I get feeling “sort of” normal again and I have adjusted to the changes in my body that it is time for another procedure. I now understand why they say “battling cancer”.

7 thoughts on “Simply Obey

  1. Mary Pratt says:

    Oh Pamela,
    Your incredible outlook, ability with words, and faith are such an inspiration to so many of us. You are in the hearts and prayers of many as you continue. I am praying for the Yervoy to be successful with minimal side effects for you. Your colleagues and supportive community are such a blessing, so encouraging and loving.
    Much love to you and your family!
    XO ~Mary

  2. Gayle Stasiak says:

    Pamela, you are “Tiny but Mighty”!!! We battle with you thru prayer and pleading with God. You are not alone! Keep writing! I look forward to your posts so I know how to pray. We all love you!!!
    The Stasiak Family

  3. Pamela, as Gayle said you are mighty and full of faith which makes you huge in my book. The power of all our prayers make you the gift and you are the flower that always opens and blooms. Just know we all are there for you and enjoy your ongoing spirit. Love ya! Kim

  4. Deb Homant says:

    Continued love and prayers as you head into the next phase of your battle. You are indeed a tiny but mighty warrior!

  5. Laurie Johnson says:

    Pamela, thanks for being so open and honest as you go through this “battle”–as others have said, you are an inspiration to many! (And you’re a great writer!) Putting this process in writing may help someone going through the same thing in the future. Your words may touch more people than you realize!
    You and Rich and the boys are on our minds a lot, and I pray often! Janet keeps us updated, and I peek in on this site to see how you’re doing.

  6. Jill Gilbert says:

    Melanoma is certainly a tough battle to fight…YOU are up for the challenge! Remember you are not in the fight alone…we are all here to fight on your behalf!

  7. Dawn says:

    Pamela, you are in my prayers as always remember you don’t walk alone.

Leave a Reply

