Making Memories

My family and I are so grateful for the opportunity provided by so many people to take a cruise to the Bahamas.  It came together in such a short time and everything that was needed to make it happen was provided, from borrowed luggage to a complete wardrobe.  While I may not have been able to participate in the shore excursions, I was a well-dressed lounger of the beach and cruise ship!  We had an amazing time, laughed until our stomachs hurt, and made wonderful memories together as a family.

IMG_5609

I am quite happy in this picture because I have my entire family with me (Richard is taking the picture) in the Miami airport. There was an issue in Detroit in which Drake and Richard did not get seats on the flight to Miami as the plane was overbooked and they were told they would need to take the next flight five hours later.  Fortunately, two other people gave up their seats for them (and $1,000 in airline credit) and I was overjoyed when they walked on the plane.  Take notice of that bright pink suitcase in the picture.  It went missing on the ship and I did not see it again until day 2 of the trip.   We had a rough start but the rest of the trip was smooth sailing:

IMG_5671       IMG_5627

Here is our ship, the Norwegian Sky, in which we had the pleasure of staying in two balcony rooms.  Upon leaving Miami, I looked out from my balcony to see this double rainbow – a definite sign of good things to come.

IMG_5644 IMG_5645

We spent our first full day snorkeling and at a private Lucayan beach on Grand Bahama island.  The boys played basketball and volleyball, while Richard and I sipped virgin pina coladas on a beautiful beach.

sub adventure

IMG_5714 IMG_5826

Our second stop was Nassau where the boys were taken aback at the strong selling approach of the vendors.  Every few steps someone was offering them scooters and mopeds to rent, RayBan sunglasses, cigars, and “samples of party favors”.  (For the record, they declined all offers!) Most of Richard’s and the boys’ afternoon was spent on an underwater sub adventure while I spent the afternoon at the spa having a keratin treatment on my hair and a facial.  My guys grumbled about getting dressed up for the French restaurant Le Bistro but later claimed it was their favorite meal of the whole trip.

IMG_5753

Our last full day was spent at Norwegian’s private island, Great Stirrup Cay.  Richard and the boys had a blast on a jet ski tour while I enjoyed reading and doing crossword puzzles in a private cabana as waiters brought me food and drinks.  Check out the gorgeous view from our cabana.  There were some great reefs for snorkeling too!

Please accept our heartfelt thanks to all who made this experience happen.  I am overwhelmed by the generosity and eternally thankful to have made these wonderful memories with my family. Additionally, I came home feeling rested, relaxed, and ready to tackle the next step in this journey.

Today I began the immunotherapy treatment Yervoy. I naively thought I would go to work after the treatment was finished. However, I somehow missed during the education lesson that I was SUPPOSE to have someone drive me as I needed to take two Benadryl pills to prevent a reaction during the infusion.  My friend Laurie, who met me at Lacks for the treatment, ended up taking me back to her home afterwards so I could sleep off the Benadryl and safely drive myself home.  I will be better prepared next time now that I know all that it entails.

Psalm 18:32 “It is God who arms me with strength and makes my way perfect.”

7 thoughts on “Making Memories

  1. I am so glad all of you had a great time. The pictures are awesome and the best is a memory that will last forever. Can’t wait to hear more about it and see all the pictures. God is surely part of your life!

  2. Deb Homant says:

    I am so happy to see that you all had so much fun! I loved hearing about some of your memory making today…..the funny memories are often the best! ❤

  3. Jill Gilbert says:

    You certainly looks you had a wonderful trip and made some fantastic memories!

  4. Jill Gilbert says:

    Good grief…I need to proofread my comments more carefully 🙂 I meant to say it certainly looks like you had a wonderful trip and made some fantastic memories!

  5. ericavoeks says:

    glad u are all having a good time and making some memmories

  6. Sueann says:

    How wonderful! The pictures are great and you all look wonderful. So happy you had a fun time. If I can help you out with transporting to your infusion visits please ask!

  7. Wendy says:

    So happy to hear you had a wonderful time with great memories!

Leave a Reply

