Enjoying Each Day

busy is a choice

I have been doing really well these past few weeks.  The side effects from Yervoy do not usually happen for the first two to three weeks and then it becomes a cumulative effect with each treatment.   Therefore, I have felt the urge to do as many things as possible while I am feeling well.  I have a greater appreciation for each day.  I know I am suppose to be thankful in every situation but it sure is a lot easier when I am feeling better!

Last weekend I checked off another bucket list item – prom dress shopping! I love watching Say Yes to the Dress, Project Runway, and seeing the Best Dressed at the Oscars, so this filled my need for sequins, lace, and bling.  Penny, my son’s girlfriend, was very accommodating and tried on around fifty dresses.  (There could have been fifty-one dresses but I vetoed one on the rack and never showed it to her.  I figured my son’s hand has to set somewhere for the pictures and I want it to be on cloth!)  After many hours of zipping, snapping, and turning around in the mirror, she found a classy and elegant dress that fits her perfectly.

Punctuated between dress shopping, track meets, planning my son’s graduation festivities, and  end of the school year tasks, I have been trying to make some important decisions about work and my son’s college.  When I came across the saying at the top of the page, it resonated with me. Whenever I felt myself become stressed these past few days, I reminded myself that God is control, He knows best, and He will direct me.  (But the old me wants My answers and NOW, so again I grow as a person and a christian).

My next two infusions (Zometa and Yervoy) are May 1st and 4th.  It is easier now that I know what to expect, but I am still grateful to have a friends with me for them.

Is 41:10 So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God.  I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand. 

2 thoughts on “Enjoying Each Day

  1. ericavoeks says:

    wonderful pam hope ur family had a wonderful vacation

  2. Linda Van Houten says:

    I stand amazed at how God continues to use you as a blessings to others, your reminders are always what we all need to hear, and also help us know that God is taking care of you. What fun for you to dress shop – more wonderful memories for you and your family. Praying for peace with decisions you have to make and clear guidance as you make them. Sending hugs and continued prayers of hope and love!!

Leave a Reply

