Taking it Easy

IMG_2888

My friend emailed me this quote, and it really resonated with me as this pretty much sums up my life lately. Bad habits die hard so I do still make a “to-do” list every morning. Yet I give myself grace these days on whether or not the items on my list are accomplished. I feel tired A LOT, and there seems to be no rhyme or reason as to how much energy I will have in a day. I do my tasks when I feel a burst of energy and rest when it leaves me. Last week a friend came to visit. I was so tired but didn’t want her to leave so she took a nap too. What a gift!

I do not have any appointments until the end of July and I relish this period of time when I can enjoy life without medical interference. Emotionally, I am doing well as I have been visiting with friends and family and have had many events to look forward to doing.  Yesterday was my oldest son’s 20th birthday, and it is hard to believe that I am no longer a mother to a teenager but a young man! I am so proud of who RK is today.  Not only is he dependable, hard-working, and resourceful, but he is caring as well.   His only flaw is that he never cuts his momma a break when playing Settlers of Catan, cribbage, Dutch Blitz, Last Word, Scattegories, etc. (you get the picture!).

This will have to be a short blog as Richard keeps eyeing the clock and then me in my pajamas.  He has given me a departure time for today and I think he is doubting I will be ready in time.  I need to prove him wrong. In leaving, I would ask for continued prayers for healing, the right medical plan, and ease of my discomfort.  So long, Pamela

5 thoughts on “Taking it Easy

  1. ericavoeks says:

    good for you pam u r sure amazing!

  2. Pam, you are such an inspiring friend. I enjoyed are time together this past week. Loved our adventure with the toss of the coin and trust God to lead us in the direction we go and we were never lost. This said a lot in trusting in God and what a message you sent to the younger people in our car. Again thanks for the fun, laughs, adventures and just being together. Can’t wait for the next adventure! See you soon.

  3. Linda Van Houten says:

    Hey Pamela – So glad you are still making lists — it is what keeps all of us going – that purpose and drive to get something done and feel good when it is accomplished. I am thinking of you daily and hope that your time is filled with wonderful times with family and friends.

    Here is a little joke for the day–Mother mouse and a baby mouse were walking along, when all of a sudden, a cat attacked them. The mother mouse goes, “BARK!” and the cat runs away.
    “See?” says the mother mouse to her baby. “Now do you see why it’s important to learn a foreign language”.

    I guess this just supports our initiative to have immersion programs 🙂

    One more 🙂
    Jesus, Moses, and an old man go golfing. The first one to tee off is Moses. He smashes the ball and it is heading right for the water hazard before the green. Moses raises his club, the water parts, and the ball makes it to the green. Jesus gets up to swing, cranks it out, and it is headed for the water hazard. Jesus closes his eyes and prays. The ball skips across the water and lands on the green two feet from the hole. The old man’s turn comes and he drives the ball. The ball looks like it is going to drop directly into the water. A fish jumps from the water hazard swallowing the ball, as an eagle drops from the sky, grabbing the fish. As the eagle flies over the green, a bolt of lightning strikes the eagle, making it drop the fish. As the fish hits the green, it spits out the ball and the ball falls into the hole, making a hole in one. Jesus looks at Moses and says, “I really think I’m leaving Dad at home next time!”

    Enjoy and Take Care my friend.

  4. Dawn says:

    Hi Pam, have been thinking of you this last week and praying you are enjoying your summer….it won’t be long until we are back in school 👏 so I am sending prayers and hugs to you! Rest when you can, let others do the rest.
    Love to you Pam, Grandma Dawn

  5. Jeanette Christensen Emmons says:

    Thought of you today and am praying. “You are loved with an everlasting love and underneath are the everlasting arms.” (Elizabeth Elliot)

Leave a Reply

