Broken

Psalm 40: 1-2 

“I waited patiently for the Lord;
    he turned to me and heard my cry.
He lifted me out of the slimy pit,
    out of the mud and mire;
he set my feet on a rock
    and gave me a firm place to stand.”

I stayed in the “pit” much longer than I could have imagined.  The past few weeks have been extremely hard and I am so thankful I am being restored.  I had a complete emotional breakdown and needed to start taking an anti-depressant.  I have new empathy for those who struggle with depression.  It takes herculean effort to just get out of bed.  I could not smile, laugh, or find joy in anything.  To compound this, I became nauseous and unable to eat and there seemed to be one physical complication after another.

I could not have regained some of the old Pamela without the antidepressant.  I knew it was working when I wanted to read again and then actually left my home for a short car ride.  Apparently in another two weeks I will experience its full effect so I expect to be my sassy self again.  Watch out world!

I want to thank everyone for all the support, even from afar, whether it was prayers, cards, food, or small gifts.  It is all appreciated.  It has been extremely hard on my family and friends to have witnessed what I was going through. Richard has been amazing and many days he would just stay by me holding my hand until I felt okay to be alone.  My neighbor Janet laid in bed with me when I just would not get out of it.  True love.

Well, I am out of bed now and trying to build back my strength.  The first week I walked to the mailbox, the next week was the mailbox and around the yard, and this week I am tackling the road, going a little further each day.  My friend Cheri said this is how she ended up being able to run a marathon.  Inspiring.

8 thoughts on “Broken

  1. ericavoeks says:

    prayers your way pam, to both you and rich. Im glad u guys have a neighbor like my grandma.

  2. Jeanette Christensen Emmons says:

    So thankful, Pam! Was praying for you. What a wonderful group of friends you have. I’m glad the doctors gave you a boost to normalcy. I remember years ago, holding my small pill in my fingers and thanking God for its existence and its effects! These bodies of ours are far
    from the perfection of Eden. In that acknowledgement – we accept the help He brings our way.

    Hugs!!

    Jeanette

  3. Russ & Sara Tiller says:

    We love you and pray for you and the family. You continue to lift us by your strength and will power.
    Hugs, Russ & Sara

  4. Karen Ray says:

    I am glad that you are taking all the steps you can to help yourself. And, I continue to pray. Every night at 11:00, I will lift you and all who love you up in my prayers. And other times too but that’s one that you can count on.

  5. Wendy Johnson says:

    Pamela, you truly are THE inspiration!! Your positive attitude is one that sets the bar for most of us <3. I miss seeing you. Do you have a personal email?

  6. Jeanette Christensen Emmons says:

    Sweetheart — we and many of my best prayer partners – are carrying your needs to The Throne of God. I love you, Pam — and have been so happy you came to Christ. Your rapid maturing “in the faith” has been a joy to watch.
    Truly – you have faithfully reflected Christ to all in your circle of influence.

    My prayer for you now is that you will know the very presence of Our Lord as He cradles you in His loving embrace – moment by moment!!

    Rest there, Sweet Pamela! Rest!!

    Love, Jeanette

  7. Jill Gilbert says:

    You are truly inspiring and thought of often. Continued prayers for you and your family.

  8. RIP Miss. Pam….it was such a joy getting to know you and how much you worked with Gabe…may your family be surrounded with love and prayers…you are no longer in pain :<3

Leave a Reply

